• W Courtland Robinson

December 6, 2023 at 4:50 pm

I had a successful thymectomy in 2014 only a few months after my diagnosis. It went very well, no complications, and no new growths since. I cannot say what the progression of my MG would have been without the surgery, but I feel the surgery was both necessary and successful and I have been managing for nearly 10 years with mild/moderate symptoms.

• paul spychalski

January 3, 2024 at 11:39 am

Were there spots on your Thymus? They took a MRI of my Thymus ( VA ) and said the small spots on my thymus were not enough for me to have MG. ??????? Do you have spots on your Thymus? Are they large or small? What other condition were they in? Vietnam ’67….

• Debbie sandwra

December 6, 2023 at 6:08 pm

I had a different experience. I used a top surgeon and he paralyzed half my diaphragm. Fortunately I’m ok with just half working. It also did nothing to help me. Im 4 years in and this year was the worst of my life. 3 hospital stays. So the surgery doesnt work for everyone. I dont want anyone getting hopes up that this is a cure.

• Leora Diana

December 6, 2023 at 7:30 pm

I was diagnosed in the summer of 2010 with drooping eyelid, fatigue and double vision. A tumor was found on my Thymus, so making the decision to have the surgery was relatively easy. I had my Thymectomy 2 months later. My tumor was benign and I had no symptoms again until 2018 with trouble swallowing, double vision and muscle weakness. I lost 28 pounds in 1 month. After 3 IVIG and Prednisone for a few months I was put on CellCept and Mestinon which I continue to take. My symptoms are manageable and I do not regret my surgery. Recovery for me was stressful for the first couple weeks but I recovered within 6 weeks and was back at work. Good luck.

• AGASimpson

December 7, 2023 at 1:51 pm