• exercising with MG

Posted by Michael Morris on August 22, 2023 at 6:13 pm

Im 85 and I have MG

Ive had it for two years and I know the disease impacts each of us differently. One of the loses I felt most was a variety of muscle weaknesses that came and went. Ihad rehab after an MG crisis and I was pleased when I could climb 2 or 3 stairs.

Once home I read several articles that talked about exercise. They all came to the same conclusion–listen to your body and take it slow.There will be days you feel like taking a walk outside, and others when you know its just not the right time

During the past two years as my meds changed and I started to feel better my goal became trying to work my way back to the exercises I did before I was diagnosed. For example I started lifting hand weights at 3 pounds and then 5,7 and finally 10 which was my old routine. For my other exercises I kept pushing to raise my reps

My message is yes try to exercise, but do listen to your body and your neurologist. Set goals and work to meet them. Two of anything is better than one. Not only will you feel better physically, but mentally as well

After all, you’ll be showing MG who’s boss.

Becky replied 6 months, 2 weeks ago 8 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • ChrisM

August 23, 2023 at 1:08 pm

Totally agree! Exercise can be so beneficial physically and mentally. But there are days where it just doesn’t happen as body says no…and it’s ok! The key thing I’ve found is to not be disappointed or discouraged on a bad day. God knows what each day holds and gives the strength needed.

• Charles Karcher

August 23, 2023 at 2:08 pm

Fortunately I am able to exercise on a regular basis. I walk on a treadmill daily with a goal of 3 miles daily which I am usually capable of meeting. I exercise with hand weights intermittently using 5lb weights. While the primary goal is weight control the muscular development is also useful.

• John

August 23, 2023 at 5:06 pm