Myasthenia Gravis News Forums Forums Mental Health and Self-Care Where Do You Need Support in Your Life Right Now?

• Michelle

March 24, 2022 at 2:44 am

What perfect timing!

What is weighing heavy on my heart is that I have been working for four months now trying to get into one of the bigger clinics to get help with my MG and it is so difficult. In NM there are very few neurologists and those there are have very little experience with MG.

I have also just had a CT scan that showed a tumor on my thyroid and another in the area between my lungs. It has been very difficult to get scheduled to have the recommended biopsies. One doctor will only refer to a thoracic cancer surgeon. I have to have my primary care doctor refer me to an endocrinologist and I haven’t been able to speak to anyone to request it for over 2 weeks. I am frustrated that the medical system doesn’t work and I have to set up reminders for myself to follow up on each call every 2 to 3 days.

Good news: I heard from Cleveland Clinic yesterday to schedule an appointment for late April!

I appreciate the opportunity to unburden some of this to my fellow MG friends.

Michelle

• Karen

March 24, 2022 at 12:11 pm

Hope is what I desperately need!

I am very disappointed that Vvygart (efgartigimod alfa-fcab) was not approved for sero-negative patients. While clinically, it is “loosely” referred to as an in-vivo PLEX (PlasmApheresis), I strongly believe it should be available to all MG patients who have responded to PLEX as well as those in the clinical trial participants.

That being said, I am being keep alive by PLEX every other week—my ports are old >5-years, I have clotted off several veins in the upper arms and neck (likely due to the presence of the ports) making replacement of the ports a risky option.