Myasthenia Gravis News Forums Forums Healthcare and Treatments Soliris (Eculizumab) and MG

• Shelby Mowrey

July 13, 2022 at 7:47 pm

I’ve been on it since July 2019. It worked wonders for me. I went from using a Walker to hiking and even ran my first 5K!

The downside is the every two week schedule. I was unable to travel, although so was the rest of the world due to COVID. And I do have restless legs syndrome side affect.

I’m switching to Ultamiris this next infusion. Simply because I will be able to go every two months after the two load doses. This is huge for me as I love to travel.

For those that haven’t tried Soliris I highly recommend it!

• Charles Karcher

July 13, 2022 at 7:55 pm

I have been receiving Soliris for 2 1/2 years.  After Plasmapheresis failed to keep my MG under control I was put on IVIG until I transitioned to Soliris.  I experienced extreme fatigue with IVIG but that gradually faded away with the use of Soliris.  I have been stable now for over two years with no complications or symptoms other than some slight double vision with my head in certain position.  I have had no side effects whatsoever.  The dosing instructions recommend an hour wait after the end of infusion but after no ill effects after two infusions that went by the wayside.  The infusion takes 35 minutes and sometimes I have to waiter longer for the pharmacy to mix the infusion than the actual infusion takes.

I will be transitioning to Ultomiris perhaps as soon as next week.  Changing to an eight week infusion schedule will be a welcome change.  While there may be no ultimate victory against MG with Soliris I have been able to maintain a close to normal lifestyle.

• Robert Powers

July 13, 2022 at 7:58 pm

I receive Soliris infusions every other week…it is MUCH better than 4 hours of IVIG 8 times a month!   Results about the same but I have my 8 days per month of my life back!

• David Davidson

July 14, 2022 at 5:46 pm