Myasthenia Gravis News Forums Forums Welcome Lounge Hello and Welcome From One of the Moderators!

• Hello and Welcome From One of the Moderators!

Posted by bns-staff on May 11, 2021 at 7:30 pm

Hello! My name is Michelle Gonzaba (she/her) and I am a forum moderator for Myasthenia Gravis News. I also write a weekly column discussing my life experiences with MG. Currently, I am a secondary English teacher living in Texas. Some of my hobbies include reading, obsessing over pop culture, and judging movies I have never seen.

I first experienced symptoms of MG in 2010 and was finally diagnosed a year later. Although I have had a few flare-ups, I am extremely happy to say I’ve been in remission for five years. I am excited to work with my fellow moderator, Jodi, and help build a community where those with MG can find solace, support, and information.

jonathan-a replied 2 years, 1 month ago 4 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • michele-ayers

February 2, 2022 at 4:00 pm

Thank you Michelle! I am so glad you have this forum/site and I am happy to hear you are in remission. I ( she/her) was recently diagnosed and look forward to gaining from your knowledge and personal experiences. My first signs have been ocular and I am on prednisone and mestinon. Do you know anyone who has tried the newest fda approved medication? I am very nervous about losing my voice as I am a singer ( retired teacher) and I’m trying to record and perform as much as I can before I lose it. Thank you for welcoming me to this site. I am very appreciative. Michele

• Deleted User

Deleted User
    February 3, 2022 at 10:14 am

GoodMorning,
    sometimes it’s not easy. Plasmapheresis had to be cancelled last Friday. One of my ports developed a blockage. The machine was pumping only 1 liter an hour.
    The port is being changed on February 18. Oh well
    I’m supposed to start with a new neurologist. Let’s see.
    My swallowing is becoming worse, even saliva has sometimes become difficult to swallow.